2019 Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.University of Mount Olive's Lina Maria Romero Alarcon was crowned both the 2019 Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Player and Freshman of the Year. In addition, Limestone College's Alex Ferguson picked up Coach of the Year accolades, the Conference announced tonight.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for women's tennis is Erskine College's Rachel Berkey.

Romero Alarcon, a freshman from Villa Vicencio, Colombia, went 14-4 in singles (No. 2) and 13-6 in doubles (No. 1). Romero Alarcon went undefeated in conference action and closed the regular season on a 10-match win streak. Romero Alarcon is the first recipient of the Freshman of the Year award in UMO women's tennis program history and the first Player of the Year for UMO since the 2004-05 season. 

Ferguson led the Saints to a 13-6 overall record and a perfect 11-0 league mark. He guided the Saints to their third regular season title over the past five years. This is Ferguson's third Women's Coach of the Year honor..

Berkey, a senior accounting major from Myrtle Beach, S.C., sports a cumulative 4.0 GPA.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

Lina Maria Romero Alarcon, Mount Olive

Fantine Botella, Emmanuel

Laura Aholu, Limestone

Camille Haus, Limestone

Ariana Orozco, Mount Olive

Pauline Hagen, Converse

All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

Cynthia Carrier, Chowan

Alexandra Dolfi, Limestone

Daria Avram, Barton

Pearllan Cipriano, Emmanuel

Rachel Berkey, Erskine

Ana Chirila, Limestone

All-Conference Carolinas Third Team

Maria Raich, Emmanuel

Teagan McNamara, Belmont Abbey

Eileen Rickert, Erskine

Marie Berghaus, Erskine

Deike Schipper, Mount Olive

Luiza Souza, Erskine


Player of the Year

Lina Maria Romero Alarcon, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year

Lina Maria Romero Alarcon, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year

Alan Ferguson, Limestone

Elite 23 Award

Rachel Berkey, Erskine

Regular Season Women's Tennis Champion

Limestone College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.