Mount Olive Wins Conference Carolinas Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship; Individual Awards and All-Conference Announced

CENTRAL, S.C. – The 2019 Conference Carolinas Men's Outdoor Track and Field Championship was held April 26-27, 2019 on the campus of Southern Wesleyan University in Central, S.C. University of Mount Olive took home the team title after posting a score of 292 points.

North Greenville University's Tevin Richardson earned the Track Athlete of the Year, while Barton College's Micah Clemons earned Field Athlete of the Year. Mount Olive's Jay Hall took home Freshman of the Year. Matt van Lierop of Mount Olive garnered Coach of the Year after leading the Trojans to the Conference Carolinas Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for men's outdoor track & field is Mount Olive's Jonathon Wojcuich.


2019 Conference Carolinas Men’s Track Athlete of the Year - Tevin Richardson, North Greenville

2019 Conference Carolinas Men’s Field Athlete of the Year - Micah Clemons, Barton

2019 Conference Carolinas Men’s Freshman of the Year -
Jay Hall, Mount Olive

2019 Conference Carolinas Men’s Coach of the Year - Matt van Lierop, Mount Olive
2019 Conference Carolinas Men’s Elite 23 Award - Jonathon Wojcuich, Mount Olive


2019 Conference Carolinas Men's Team Standings - Full Results

1) Mount Olive - 292

2) Limestone - 153

3) North Greenville - 112

4) Barton - 55

5) Southern Wesleyan - 46

6) Emmanuel - 36

7) Lees-McRae - 28

7) King - 28

9) Belmont Abbey - 27


Men's All-Conference Teams: 

(Top 3 finishes are 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Team All Conference)

Men's 100 Meter Dash
1. JJ Sherman, North Greenville
2. Marquett Simmons, Jr., Limestone
3. Matthew Difrancesco, Belmont Abbey

Men's 200 Meter Dash
1. Marquett Simmons, Jr., Limestone
2. Tevin Richardson, North Greenville
3. JJ Sherman, North Greenville

Men's 400 Meter Dash
1. Tevin Richardson, North Greenville
2. Arne Leppelsack, Mount Olive
3. Richard Fisher, Mount Olive

Men's 800 Meter Run
1. Damonte' Ward, Emmanuel
2. Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
3. Trey Stewart, North Greenville

Men's 1500 Meter Run
1. Tai Smith, Mount Olive
2. Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
3. Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive

Men's 5000 Meter Run
1. Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive
2. Branson Oduor, Mount Olive
3. Jay Hall, Lees-McRae

Men's 10,000 Meter Run
1. Tai Smith, Mount Olive
2. Jay Hall, Mount Olive
3. Daniel Francken, Mount Olive

Men's 110 Meter Hurdles
1. Devon Brooks, Limestone
2. William Gray, Limestone
3. Leonard Holmes, Southern Wesleyan

Men's 400 Meter Hurdles
1. Joshua Simmons, Limestone
2. Michele Marticke, Mount Olive
3. Demond Cooper, Mount Olive

Men's 3000 Steeplechase
1. Jacob Willis, Mount Olive
2. Branson Oduor, Mount Olive
3. Tai Smith, Mount Olive

Men's 4 x 100 Relay
1. North Greenville
2. Mount Olive
3. Southern Wesleyan

Men's 4 x 400 Relay
1. Limestone
2. Southern Wesleyan
3. Belmont Abbey

Men's High Jump
1. Devon Brooks, Limestone
2. Chandler Whittle, Southern Wesleyan
3. Jawann Washington, Mount Olive

Men's Pole Vault
1. Martin Bayles, Mount Olive
2. Juan Soto, Emmanuel
3. Anatoley Gamza, North Greenville

Men's Long Jump
1. Eian Hines, Mount Olive
2. Khalil Drayton, Limestone
3. Devon Brooks, Limestone

Men's Triple Jump
1. Trevor Carr, Mount Olive
2. Trevon Jenkins, Limestone
3. Eian Hines, Mount Olive

Men's Shot Put
1. Mark Livingston, Limestone
2. Micah Clemons, Barton
3. Walter Klima, Limestone

Men's Discus
1. Micah Clemons, Barton
2. Chianti Ghee, Barton
3. Ben Howard, Mount Olive

Men's Hammer
1. Micah Clemons, Barton
2. Ben Howard, Mount Olive
3. Keauntai Robinson, Southern Wesleyan

Men's Javelin
1. Zach Teeple, Mount Olive
2. Luke Miller, Mount Olive
3. Copper Abernathy, Lees-McRae


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.