Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams Announced For Tennis

High Point, N.C. > The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team.  Awards were presented at the league tennis team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Erskine College and the Palmetto Park Tennis Complex in Sumter, SC.  This year's award winners are as follows:


Player of the Year:

Alena Krutkina, Pfeiffer

Pfeiffer's Alena Krutkina wrapped up her senior season with a league-best 18-2 overall record in singles, 17-3 in doubles, to go a perfect 10-0 and 9-1 in conference play. Over her career, Krutkina has registered a 46-13 singles record with an outstanding 25-5 mark in doubles competition. Krutkina will depart Pfeiffer and Conference Carolinas as one of the best women's tennis players of all-time.


Freshman of the Year: 

Mika Goyette, Erskine College

Mika Goyette posted a team-best 19-3 singles record, including a perfect 10-0 mark in conference, as Erskine repeated as the conference regular season champions. She has won 14 consecutive singles matches. Goyette, along with doubles partner, Tessa Rheault, also had a team-best doubles record at 19-4 and 10-1 in conference. Goyette won both her matches in Erskine's win over No. 9 Clayton State, the Fleet's first win over a nationally-ranked Top 10 team.

Coach of the Year: 

Calhoun Parr, Erskine

Calhoun Parr guided the Fleet to their second 20-win season and finished a perfect 11-0 in conference. This season also featured the program's first win over a nationally-ranked Top 10 team as Erskine downed No. 9 Clayton State 7-2 at home on March 30th. Erskine looks to win their eighth consecutive conference tournament championship this weekend. It is the second consecutive year for Coach Parr to receive the honor from his fellow conference coaches.


All-Conference First Team:

Alena Krutkina, Pfeiffer

Christina Rustscheff, Queens

Cora Berna, Coker

Alyssa Blanchard, Coker

Elena Mileva, Queens

Corin Hallman, Erskine


All-Conference Second Team:

Mika Goyette, Erskine

Mika Deane, Barton

Julia Moreira, Limestone

Tessa Rheault, Erskine

Marine Becker, Mount Olive

Francesca Ceppi, Mount Olive


All-Conference Third Team:

Patricia Guedes, Mount Olive

Taylor Lindsay, Pfeiffer

Kirstie Jenkins, Belmont Abbey

Abby O'Reilly, Erskine

Morgan Roberts, Queens


 Women's Eastern Division Regular Season Co-Champions

Mount Olive College & Queens University of Charlotte


Women's Western Division Regular Season Champions

Erskine College




Player of the Year:

Carlos Yanes, Limestone

Junior Carlos Yanes helped lead Limestone to an undefeated 10-0 league mark and No. 1 seed in the upcoming conference tournament posting a 15-6 overall record and 9-1 mark in conference action at the No. 1 singles position for Limestone.  His doubles record also is impressive at 13-7 overall and 9-1 league mark at the No. 2 doubles position. Yanes has regularly posted commanding wins in becoming just the second Saint to earn Conference Carolinas Player of the Year honors.


Freshman of the Year: 

Edgar Bub, Mount Olive

Edgar Bub posted a combined .700 winning percentage in conference play with matching 7-3 records at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles this season to help Mount Olive win the East Division conference regular season title. Bub, who played every singles and doubles match at the No. 1 flight, recorded an eight-match singles winning streak during the season that helped the Trojans post a school-record 10-match winning streak.


Coach of the Year: 

Kevin Coghill, Mount Olive

In just his second year as head coach, Kevin Coghill led Mount Olive to the East Division regular season title and the Trojans' best record in conference play since the team's perfect conference record in 2005. Mount Olive jumped out to a 7-0 start in the league this year and finished with a 9-1 mark. The Trojans' 15-6 regular season mark is one win shy of matching the school single-season record and Mount Olive is on pace to record the highest winning percentage in school history.


All-Conference First Team:

Carlos Yanes, Limestone

Christiaan Lee-Daigle, Queens

Edgar Bub, Mount Olive

Mike Stephenson, Limestone

Alexander Hayes, Lees-McRae

Jose Avila, King


All-Conference Second Team:

Rafael Ferla, Limestone

Brahm Moolman, Mount Olive

Joshua Bloch, Queens

Murilo Pelegrino, Mount Olive

Angelo Ciarrocchi, Erskine

Manel Estruga, Coker


All-Conference Third Team:

Pier-Alexandre Desilets, Barton

Pablo Vidal, King

Diogo Sender, Mount Olive

Conner McMann, Belmont Abbey

Akio Mariano, Mount Olive



Men's Eastern Division Regular Season Champions

Mount Olive College


Men's Western Division Regular Season Champions

Limestone College



Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Queens University of Charlotte.