10 Conference Carolinas Baseball Players Named ABCA/Rawlings All-Region, NGU's Jones Earns Major Award

GREENSBORO, N.C. - 10 Conference Carolinas baseball players were named to the 2019 Southeast All-Region teams by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA), the association announced Wednesday (May 29) afternoon. In addition to the all-region selection, North Greenville University's Utah Jones earned Position Player of the Year.

North Greenville led the way with a conference-high six players on the team. Belmont Abbey College, Chowan UniversityErskine College and University of Mount Olive each earned one honoree to round out the selections.

NGU would post five first team selections in Jones, Tucker Burgess, John Michael Faile, Michael Giacone and Adam Sasser. Chowan's Marquise Lanier and Erskine's Drew Yniesta closed out the league's first team picks.

The second team selections consisted of Belmont Abbey's Jakob Rolly, Mount Olive's JT Stone and North Greenville's Jeffrey Chandler, Jr.

First team selections are now eligible for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors.

Full ABCA Release

2019 ABCA/Rawlings Division II All-Southeast Region Team

Southeast Position Player of the Year: Utah Jones, North Greenville

First Team
C - John Michael Faile, North Greenville
1B - Adam Sasser, North Greenville
3B - Drew Yniesta, Erskine
SS - Utah Jones, North Greenville
OF - Marquise Lanier, Chowan
SP - Michael Giacone, North Greenville
SP - Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

Second Team
OF - Jakob Rolly, Belmont Abbey
OF - Jeffrey Chandler, Jr., North Greenville
DH - Garrett Lowery, Mount Olive


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.