Mount Olive Sweeps Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup Awards

HIGH POINT, N.C. – University of Mount Olive swept the Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup awards, winning the overall, men's and women's honors. The Hawn Cup is awarded to the league member that shows the highest rating of excellence in Conference-sponsored sports. The Hawn Cup is tallied after the fall, winter and spring seasons and then awarded each year in honor of former Commissioner H.C. "Joby" Hawn for his many years of service to the former Carolinas Conference.

Conference Carolinas names an overall Hawn Cup winner, as well as individual winners for men and women's sports, respectively. Hawn Cup points are awarded in each sport based on the order of regular season finish with bonus points going to the tournament champion (2 bonus points) and runner-up finisher (1 bonus point), based on the number of participating teams in each sport.

The Trojans won the overall Hawn Cup taking back the award from Limestone who had been holding the title the past four years.  Mount Olive claims the award for the third time in the last eight years. The Trojans earned 173 points out of a possible 206 for a .840 rating. This year Mount Olive won championship titles and bonus points in men’s cross country, women’s cross country, women’s indoor track and field, men’s indoor track and field, women’s outdoor track and field, and men’s outdoor track and field with runner-up finishes in baseball, women’s tennis, men’s tennis, women’s golf, and women’s lacrosse.

Limestone College finished second overall in the standings with a .799 mark. The Saints tied with Mount Olive for the most sport titles among all league teams with six teams winning their respective conference titles that included women’s soccer, men’s soccer, men’s tennis, women’s golf, women’s lacrosse, and men’s lacrosse. They also had a runner-up finish in men’s indoor track and field.

Barton College placed third overall with .642 rating.  The Bulldogs tie their highest finish within the last ten years as they continue to sit within the top five for the third consecutive year (third, fifth, third). Barton won the men’s volleyball championships while finishing runner-up in both women’s swimming and men’s golf.

North Greenville University posted a .612 rating and were led by a championship in baseball and men’s golf and a runner-up sport finish in women’s cross country.

Rounding out the schools in order are: Belmont Abbey College .609; Emmanuel College .566; Erskine College .486; King University .477; Southern Wesleyan University .412; Lees-McRae College .367; and Converse College at .341.

For the individual men's Hawn Cup, Mount Olive posted a .849 rating to take the title in men’s conference-sponsored sports. Since the awards inception, UMO has won the men’s award six out of its nine year history. The Trojans finished first or second to earn bonus points in five of the ten conference-sponsored sports for the second straight year.  They earned titles in men’s cross country, men’s indoor track & field, and men’s outdoor track & field while finishing runner-up in men’s tennis, and baseball.

In the women’s Hawn Cup, Mount Olive also won the individual title for conference-sponsored sports by collecting 91 of a possible 110 total points for .832 mark. The Trojans earned bonus points in six of the eleven league sponsored sports.


Link to the FULL 2018-19 Current Joby Hawn Cup Standings: 


Conference Carolinas Overall Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2018-19: University of Mount Olive
2017-18: Limestone College
2016-17: Limestone College
2015-16: Limestone College
2014-15: Limestone College
2013-14: University of Mount Olive
2012-13: Limestone College
2011-12: Mount Olive College
2010-11: Queens University of Charlotte
2009-10: Anderson University
2008-09: Anderson University
2007-08: Anderson University

Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2006-07: Anderson University
2005-06: Pfeiffer University
2004-05: Barton College
2003-04: Barton College
2002-03: Barton College
2001-02: Lees-McRae College
2000-01: Queens College
1999-00: Belmont Abbey College
1998-99: Belmont Abbey College
1997-98: Queens College
1995-96: High Point University


Pre-CVAC Joby Hawn Cup Winners

1994-95: Pfeiffer
1993-94: High Point
1992-93: St. Andrews
1991-92: Pembroke
1990-91: Pfeiffer
1989-90: High Point
1988-89: Pembroke
1987-88: Elon
1986-87: Elon
1985-86: High Point
1984-85: High Point
1983-84: Pembroke
1982-83: Guilford
1981-82: Elon
1980-81: Elon
1979-80: High Point, Elon
1978-79: High Point
1977-78: High Point
1976-77: High Point
1975-76: High Point


Conference Carolinas Individual Men’s & Women’s Joby Hawn Cup Winners (started in 2010-11)

2018-19: Women: Mount Olive                             Men: Mount Olive
2017-18: Women: Limestone                               Men: Mount Olive
2016-17: Women: Limestone                               Men: Limestone    
2015-16: Women: Limestone                               Men: Mount Olive    
2014-15: Women: Limestone                               Men: Mount Olive           
2013-14: Women: Mount Olive & Limestone (tie)   Men: Mount Olive
2012-13: Women: Queens                                   Men: Limestone
2011-12: Women: Mount Olive                             Men: Mount Olive            
2010-11: Women: Queens                                   Men: Queens

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.