Conference Carolinas Announces Spring 2018 Team Sportsmanship Award Winners

High Point, N.C. – With the completion of the spring season, Conference Carolinas is pleased to announce the Spring Team Messick Sportsmanship Award winners for 2018. These teams are recognized as having demonstrated the best sportsmanship in their respective sport, as voted upon by member coaches and student-athletes. Belmont Abbey College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University all earned honors in at least one spring sport, bringing their institutions closer to the 2017-18 Overall Messick Sportsmanship Award.

The sportsmanship awards are presented annually to the member institution judged to have exhibited the highest degree of sportsmanship and respect among its players, coaches, and fans during their regular playing season. The winning institution is recognized for its overall commitment to providing a quality playing environment for home and visiting fans, players, and staff members. 

Conference Carolinas athletics directors implemented the process by which the Conference Carolinas Messick Sportsmanship Awards are determined. A student-athlete and coach from each school vote separately upon the sportsmanship of all conference competitors. Each institution then submits those votes to the conference office, where averages are calculated to decide the winner for each conference-sponsored sport. The rankings of each school's conference-sponsored sports are then used to determine the institution which has displayed the best sportsmanship across all sports throughout the year, and that institution is named the winner of the Messick Sportsmanship Award.  

The individual team sportsmanship awards are now in their eighth year, reflecting Conference Carolinas’ commitment to exhibiting and recognizing sportsmanship throughout the conference. As an NCAA Division II member, Conference Carolinas prides itself on creating a positive game environment through sportsmanship to ensure a favorable experience for student-athletes and fans alike.


Spring Team Messick Sportsmanship Award recipients for 2018:

Women's Outdoor Track & Field - University of Mount Olive

Men's Outdoor Track & Field - Southern Wesleyan University

Women's Tennis - King University

Men's Tennis  - North Greenville University

Softball - King University

Baseball - Southern Wesleyan University

Women's Golf - Belmont Abbey College

Men's Golf - Southern Wesleyan University

Women's Lacrosse - Limestone College

Men's Lacrosse - Lees-McRae College

Men's Volleyball - Belmont Abbey College


Conference Carolinas is an NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.