Conference Carolinas Announces 2018-19 Murphy Osborne Award Finalists

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Eleven student-athletes from Conference Carolinas have been selected as finalists for the 2018-19 Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award, the highest academic award presented by the conference. Finalists are nominated by their institutions based on academic, athletic, leadership, service, and community involvement excellence during the year, and the award is bestowed upon the student-athlete determined to have the most outstanding accomplishments.

The finalists are as follows:  Vanessa Sanoja of Barton College, Sarah Kenney of Belmont Abbey College, Sarah Russell of Converse College, Jack Fitzpatrick of Emmanuel College, Rachel Berkey of Erskine College, Lennard Neumann of King University, Alexis Feely of Lees-McRae College, Alyssa Voccia of Limestone College, Shona Blades of University of Mount Olive, Sky Dupree of North Greenville University, and Helen Schweiger of Southern Wesleyan University.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The candidate must have been a full-time student at the member school for at least two years, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The 2018-19 Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award winner, selected from these finalists by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives, will be announced April 12, 2019.

2018-19 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalists

Vanessa Sanoja, Barton College Women's Tennis

Sarah Kenney, Belmont Abbey College Women's Volleyball

Sarah Russell, Converse College Women's Swimming

Jack Fitzpatrick, Emmanuel College Men's Basketball

Rachel Berkey, Erskine College Women's Tennis

Lennard Neumann, King University Men's Tennis

Alexis Feely, Lees-McRae College Women's Soccer

Alyssa Voccia of Limestone College, Women's Lacrosse

Shona Blades, University of Mount Olive Women's Track and Field

Sky Dupree, North Greenville University Men's Lacrosse

Helen Schweiger, Southern Wesleyan University Women's Soccer

Conference Carolinas is an NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.