2019-20 Conference Carolinas Award Winners

Joby Hawn Cup (All Sports Award)

The Joby Hawn Cup is the all-sports award for Conference Carolinas. The results are based on the finish of each conference sport. The points are given ranking the teams from first place to last. 

The points are then totaled from all of the sports for each institution. The Hawn Cup is given to an overall Hawn Cup winner, the Hawn Cup men’s sports winner and the Hawn Cup women’s sports winner.

The Joby Hawn Cup is named after H.C. "Joby" Hawn, who in 1962 became the first full-time Commissioner of what was then known as the Carolinas Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (CIAC) and now Conference Carolinas. Following his retirement from the league in 1976, Conference Carolinas began awarding the Hawn Cup annually in his honor.

Fall 2019 Standings

John D. Messick Award (Sportsmanship) 

Conference Carolinas athletics directors implemented the process by which the Conference Carolinas Messick Sportsmanship Awards are determined. A student-athlete and coach from each institution vote separately upon the sportsmanship of all conference competitors. Each institution then submits those votes to the conference office where the averages are then calculated to decide the winner for each conference-sponsored sport.

The rankings of each school's conference-sponsored sports are then used to determine the institution which has displayed the best sportsmanship across all sports throughout the year. That institution is named the winner of the Messick Sportsmanship Award at the conclusion of the athletic year.  

The Team Messick Sportsmanship Awards are now in their 10th year. The awards are named after John D. Messick, who was the president of former conference member East Carolina from 1947-59. Messick truly championed sportsmanship and even wrote a book entitled, "Personality and Character Development." 

2019 Conference Carolinas Fall Team Messick Award Winners
Women's Cross Country: King University
Men's Cross Country: North Greenville University
Women's Soccer: Belmont Abbey College
Men's Soccer: King University
Women's Volleyball: Southern Wesleyan University 

Fall Release

2019-20 Conference Carolinas Winter Team Messick Award Winners
Men’s Swimming & Diving: King
Women’s Swimming & Diving: King
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: North Greenville
Women’s Indoor Track & Field: Belmont Abbey and North Greenville
Men’s Basketball: North Greenville
Women’s Basketball: Converse

Winter Release

Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award

The Murphy Osborne Award goes to an outstanding senior student-athlete and it is the highest academic award presented by Conference Carolinas.

Student-Athletes are nominated by their institutions based on their academic, athletic and service accomplishments. The Faculty Athletic Representatives (FARs) from all Conference Carolinas institutions submit institutional nominations and votes are cast by the FARs.

To be eligible for the award, the student-athlete must be a December or May graduating senior or a first-year graduate student completing athletic eligibility at the same institution as undergraduate matriculation. The student-athlete must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student at the member school for at least two years and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport.

The award is named for longtime educator and college and university administrator Dr. Murphy Osborne.

2019-20 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Award Winner
Steffi Kong - Converse Women’s Tennis


2019-20 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Award Finalists
Luis Reyes - Barton Men’s Swimming
Liam Maxwell - Belmont Abbey Men’s Volleyball
Steffi Kong - Converse Women’s Tennis
Lindsey Stigler - Chowan Softball
Denita-Sue Pieterse - Emmanuel Women’s Swimming
Stokes Brownlee - Erskine Men’s Golf
Sean Kohlhase - King Men’s Volleyball
Jaden Acklin - Lees-McRae Women’s Tennis
Lexi Allen - Limestone Women’s Lacrosse
Taylor Moncrief - Mount Olive Track & Field
Austin Dixon - North Greenville Men’s Lacrosse
Sawyer Price - Southern Wesleyan Baseball

Finalists Release

Scholar-Athletes of the Year

The Scholar-Athlete awards are presented annually to one individual in each Conference Carolinas sponsored sport. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year winners are chosen by the Conference Carolinas Student-Athlete Affairs Committee. 

To be considered, a student-athlete must be a junior or a senior with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher. In addition, the nominees for the award must have been named all-conference in their sport and chosen academic all-conference. 

2019 Conference Carolinas Fall Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Men’s Cross Country:
 Tai Smith, Mount Olive
Women’s Cross Country: Leah Hanle, Mount Olive
Women’s Volleyball: Kaytlin Elkins, Barton
Men’s Soccer: Gianni Serio, Belmont Abbey
Women’s Soccer: Morgan Patton, Belmont Abbey

Fall Release

2019-20 Conference Carolinas Winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Women’s Swimming & Diving: Karolina Ostojska, Emmanuel
Men’s Swimming & Diving: Alexander Hoscila, Barton
Women’s Indoor Track & Field: Taylor Moncrief, Mount Olive
Men’s Indoor Track & Field: Daniel Francken, Mount Olive
Women’s Basketball: Allie Downing, Belmont Abbey
Men’s Basketball: James Brown, King

Winter Release

Elite 23 Award 

The Elite 23 Award honors Conference Carolinas student-athletes with the highest cumulative grade-point average at their respective championship site. The award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award and it allows all student-athletes at the final championship site to win the award. 

2019 Conference Carolinas Fall Elite 23 Award Winners
Women's Cross Country: Jadyn Slaughter, North Greenville
Men's Cross Country: Ethan Hargrove, Emmanuel
Men's Soccer: Roberto Ortega Lopez, Limestone
Women's Soccer: Sofia Lundkvist, Limestone
Women's Volleyball: Aidan Rohrer, Limestone

Fall Release

2019-20 Conference Carolinas Winter Elite 23 Award Winners
Men's Swimming:
 Austin Kephart - Salem
Women's Swimming: Chloe Smart - Salem
Men's Indoor Track & Field: Zachary Delaney - North Greenville
Women's Indoor Track & Field: Anna Bulsa - North Greenville
Women's Basketball: Maria Kuhlman, Belmont Abbey 
Men's Basketball: Marcus Wilson, Emmanuel 

South Atlantic Conference Carolinas Men’s Wrestling Academic Excellence Award
Seth Bell - Emmanuel

Winter Release

Academic All-Conference Teams

The Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference teams consist of junior and senior student-athletes in the conference who have competed in a conference-sponsored sport and maintained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution.

The GPA is calculated based on the cumulative averages of the student-athletes through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Fall Release

Winter Release

Presidential Honor Roll

The Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll is awarded after the fall and spring semesters. The Presidential Honor recognizes the scholastic achievements of Conference Carolinas student-athletes who achieve a grade-point average of 3.2 or higher on a 4.0 scale each semester. 

All student-athletes - including underclassmen, transfers and those who play non-conference sponsored sports - are eligible for the recognition as long as they participated during the past semester. 

Fall Presidential Honor Roll